The Supreme Court of the United States is the highest court in the federal judiciary of the United States.

Nine Justices make up the current Supreme Court: one Chief Justice and eight Associate Justices. The Honorable John G. Roberts, Jr. is the 17th Chief Justice of the United States, and there have been 101 Associate Justices in the Court’s history.

Established pursuant to Article III of the U.S. Constitution in 1789, it has original jurisdiction over a small range of cases, such as suits between two or more states, and those involving ambassadors.

U.S. Supreme Court

U.S. Supreme Court

National Locator

Pacer Case Locator

It was while debating the division of powers between the legislative and executive departments that delegates to the 1787 Constitutional Convention established the parameters for the national judiciary. Creating a “third branch” of government was a novel idea; in the English tradition, judicial matters had been treated as an aspect of royal authority.

U.S. Courts of Appeals

First Circuit – NextGen

First Circuit – BAP – NextGen

Second Circuit – NextGen

Third Circuit – NextGen

Fourth Circuit – NextGen

Fifth Circuit – ECF